Artistic Director Leadership Changes **2021**+

This Data Byte details artistic director changes at ballet companies globally which occurred in 2021 or have been announced for 2022 and later. The highlighted rows indicate companies which have announced the departure of their artistic director but have not named a successor as of December 6, 2021.*

Companies are grouped by year of leadership change and ordered categorically by size and then alphabetically by name.

A version of this Data Byte was also published as the Appendix in DDP's Global Ballet Leadership Report. To learn more about the data and report methodology, view the Global Ballet Leadership Report.

Year	Company (Name, Country)	Appointed Artistic Director		Predecessor		Size (Number of Dancers)
2021	Ballet Nacional Sodre, Uruguay	María Noel Riccetto	Female	lgor Yebra	Male	50 - 75
	National Ballet Company of Portugal, Portugal	Carlos Prado	Male	Sofia Campos	Female	50 - 75
	SNG Opera in Balet Ljubljana (Slovenian National Theatre Opera and Ballet Ljubljana), Slovenia	Renato Zanella	Male	Petar Đorčevski	Male	50 - 75
	Australian Ballet, Australia	David Hallberg	Male	David McAllister	Male	25 - 50
	Ballet de la Provincia de Salta, Argentina	Miguel Ángel Elías	Male	Maria Inés Riveros Hidalgo	Female	25 - 50
	Ballet De Monterrey, Mexico	Thiago Soares	Male	Luis Serrano	Male	25 - 50
	Ballet de Santiago, Chile	Luis Ortigoza	Male	Marcia Haydée	Female	25 - 50
	Ballet Nacional de Peru, Peru	Grace Kelly Cobián	Female	Jimmy Gamonet de los Heros	Male	25 - 50
	Balletto del Teatro di San Carlo, Italy	Clotilde Vayer	Female	Giuseppe Picone	Male	25 - 50
	Ailey II, United States	Francesca Harper	Female	Troy Powell	Male	under 25
	American Repertory Ballet, United States	Ethan Stiefel	Male	Douglas Martin	Male	under 25
	Ballet Des Moines, United States	Tom Mattingly	Male	Serkan Usta	Male	under 25
	Ballet of the Opera of Tunis, Tunisia	Malek Sebai	Female	Nawel Skandrani	Female	under 25
	Ballet Pensacola, United States	Darren McIntyre	Male	Debi Janea	Female	under 25
	Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, United States	Linda-Denise Fisher- Harrell	Female	Glenn Edgerton	Male	under 25
	Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, Canada	Alexandra Damiani	Female	Louis Robitaille	Male	under 25
	New Jersey Ballet, United States	Maria Kowroski	Female	Carolyn Clark	Female	under 25
	Oregon Ballet Theater, United States	Peter Franc (Interim Artistic Director)	Male	Kevin Irving	Male	under 25
	Orlando Ballet, United States	Jorden Morris (Guest Artistic Director)	Male	Robert Hill	Male	under 25
2022	American Ballet Theatre, United States			Kevin McKenzie	Male	75 - 100
	Finnish National Ballet, Finland	Javier Torres López	Male	Madeleine Onne	Female	75 - 100
	San Francisco Ballet, United States	Tamara Rojo	Female	Helgi Tomasson	Male	75 - 100
	National Ballet of Canada, Canada	Hope Muir	Female	Karen Kain	Female	50 - 75
	Northern Ballet, England	Federico Bonelli	Male	David Nixon	Male	25 - 50
	Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, Germany	Boris Charmatz	Male	Bettina Wagner-Bergelt	Female	25 - 50
	Opera Ballet Vlaanderen (Royal Ballet of Flanders), Belgium			Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui	Male	25 - 50
	Alberta Ballet, Canada	Christopher Anderson	Male	Jean Grand-Maître	Male	under 25
	Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève, Switzerland	Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui	Male	Phillippe Cohen	Male	under 25
	Charlotte Ballet, United States	Christopher Stuart (Interim Artistic Director)	Male	Hope Muir	Female	under 25
	Cincinnati Ballet, United States	Jodie Gates	Female	Victoria Morgan	Female	under 25
2023	Staatsballett Berlin, Germany	Christian Spuck	Male	Christiane Theobald	Female	75 - 100
	Ballett Zürich, Switzerland	Cathy Marston	Female	Christian Spuck	Male	25 - 50
2024	Eugene Ballet, United States	Jennifer Martin	Female	Toni Pimble	Female	under 25

* The Data Byte has been updated to include the names of announced successors in the companies which were previously marked as no announced successor. This information is added in red and DDP will do its best to regularly update as artistic directors are selected and announced To view a spreadsheet of open and ongoing artistic director transitions in 2022, please click here.